2009 Holiday Parlor Tour Lafayette

December 6, 2009

I was invited to create the poster for the Winter House Tour in Lafayette Square, my new neighborhood. Poster design is one of the things that I really enjoy doing.

For the Parlor Tour poster I started researching Victorian Style. The idea of a friendly character extending the neighborhood’s key was one of the strongest ideas since the beginning. I explored some Victorian fonts in a previous version, but I think this script end-up working better. I changed it in order to improve legibility and graphic tension. So the text was better integrated within the illustration. The playful composition of the letters resulted more dynamic and evocative of the finch’s flight. I also added a subtle layer of snowflakes, that might work more as a richer texture for the surroundings of the main icon.

In general terms I like the balance and sense of fullness of the piece as a whole, but also the tiny details that people will be discovering. The discovering of the little graphic surprises in the poster traces an analogy with the Tour purpose,  as a unique opportunity for “unveiling” the secrets of this  neighborhood. This non-literal, approach in poster design, has a proved more memorable impact in the viewers than photography. Iconic-story-based posters transcends the informative purpose of the piece into a more artistic collect able piece of graphic art.

5 Responses to “2009 Holiday Parlor Tour Lafayette”

  1. Leah Says:

    I ADORE this poster! I even took a picture of it! I’m hoping I can get my hands on one and frame it. I love the fonts you chose, and all the graphics- it’s so whimsical and lovely!!

    • Z Says:

      Thanks for your comments. I think the poster will be for sale pretty soon. I’ll keep you posted.
      Where are you by the way?

  2. Elisa Says:

    I agree. It is whimsical and has an ethereal quality (maybe because of the color palette…). I think there is an overall quality to the work that is very much like this one–very light… I love it.

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Is this poster still available for sale? I’m a Lafayette Square resident and would love one for my home! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

